This is the membership of the AJTC, including those who are both members of the AJTC itself and also members of the Scottish and Welsh Committees. Details of members who serve only on the Scottish and Welsh Committees can be found on the individual Committee pages (see link to the right).

richard thomas

Richard Thomas CBE, LLD

Chairman of the AJTC since 1 September 2009. He was Information Commissioner from November 2002 until he retired on 28 June 2009. His previous career has included: Director of Public Policy at Clifford Chance, Director of Consumer Affairs at the Office of Fair Trading, Head of Public Affairs and Legal Officer at the National Consumer Council, and Solicitor with the Citizens Advice Bureau Service and Freshfields. He has also previously held various public appointments, including membership of the Lord Chancellor’s Civil Justice Review Advisory Committee and the Board of the Financial Ombudsman Service. He has worked on a range of projects aimed at improving access to justice, including small claims courts and ombudsman schemes. He is currently Deputy Chairman of the Consumers Association - publishers of Which? Magazine – and a Trustee of the Whitehall and Industry Group.

Read Richard Thomas's declaration of Interests.

richard henderson.jpg

Richard Henderson CB WS

Was the Solicitor to the Scottish Executive and Head of the Government Legal Service for Scotland until 2007. During his career as a government lawyer which started in 1972 he dealt with work from across the whole range of government including, prior to 1999, issues arising from Whitehall as well as the Scottish departments. Following his retirement in 2007 he held office as president of the Law Society of Scotland between August 2007 until 2009. He was made a Companion of the Order of Bath in 2007. Chair of the Scottish Committee from 17th August 2009.

Read Richrd Henderson's Declaration of Interests (pdf 20kb)

Adrian Webb

Professor Sir Adrian Webb

Whilst an academic at LSE and Loughborough University, he had many public service roles in Whitehall Departments. He was the first Vice-Chancellor of the University of Glamorgan from 1992 – 2005, being knighted for services to Higher Education in 2000. He has recently stepped down from chairing a NHS Trust in Wales and from his role as Non-Executive Director on the Welsh Assembly Government Management Board. He is the Wales Commissioner on the UK Commission for Employment and Skills and Chair of the Wales Skills Board and is Chair of Diversions, the National Dance Company of Wales. Member of the AJTC for a period beginning 1 May 2008  - 31 April 2012. Chairman of the Welsh Committee of the AJTC for a period beginning 1 June 2008 – 30 April 2012. Re-appointed with effect from 01 April 2012.


Read Professor Webb's declaration of interests


Andrew Coyle

Professor Andrew Coyle CMG

Appointed to the Council and the Scottish Committee from 1 September 2009, Professor Coyle is a former prison governor. He is Professor of Prison Studies at the School of Law, Kings College, London. He has been involved in a number of senior advisory and board positions including the panel appointed by the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland to undertake a public inquiry into the murder of Billy Wright. He also holds a number of advisory posts for the United Nations and the Council of Europe.

Read Andrew Coyle's Declaration of Interests (pdf 47kb)

Sukhvinder Stubbs

Ms Sukhvinder Kaur-Stubbs

Chair of the Board of Trustees, Volunteering England and a non-executive board member of Consumer Focus. From 2001 to 2009 she was Chief Executive of the Barrow Cadbury Trust. She was formerly Chief Executive and Company Secretary of the Runnymede Trust, and Head of Community Development at English Partnerships. From 1990 to 1996 she was Director of Corporate Affairs at the Community Development Foundation. She has served as a non-executive director of Severn Trent Water and as a member of the Better Regulation Task Force. From 1997 to 2002, she was elected and founding Chair of the European Network against Racism. Member of the AJTC since February 2010.

Read Sukhvinder Kaur-Stubbs' Declaration of Interests

Ms Penny Letts

Ms Penny Letts OBE

Policy Consultant and Trainer specialising in mental health, mental capacity and disability law. Member of the Mental Health Act Commission 1995-2004. Policy Advisor for the Law Society 1987-2001. Member of the Judicial Studies Board's Tribunals committee since May 2003.

Read  Penny Letts's Declaration of Interests (pdf 20kb)


Professor Mary Seneviratne

Professor of Law at Nottingham Law School, Nottingham Trent University. She joined Nottingham Law School in 1998 as a Research Professor and has been Head of Department, Associate Dean and Director of Research there. Her research work has included a general overview in relation to administrative justice, with a focus on ombudsmen and complaints procedures. Her public service and other professional activities include non-executive Board Membership, Office for Legal Complaints, membership of the Executive Committee of the Socio-Legal Studies Association and membership of the British and Irish Ombudsman Association. Member of the AJTC since February 2010.

Read Mary Seneviratne's Declaration of Interests (pdf 20kb)

Dr Jonathan Spencer CB

Dr Jonathan Spencer CB

Civil servant 1974-2005, the last 8 years as Director General and Departmental Board Member first at the DTI (Director General Resources and Services, then Director General Business Group) and for the last 3 years at LCD/DCA (Director General Clients and Policy) where among other tasks he was responsible for the work leading up to publication of the DCA White Paper on Tribunal reform. Over the last 25 years has worked in a wide variety of government roles in three different departments (Cabinet Office, DTI, LCD/DCA). Now a public policy consultant, and a member of the Law Society Regulation Board.

Read Jonathan Spencer's Declaration of Interests (pdf 20kb)

Mr Brian Thompson

Brian Thompson

Senior Lecturer in Law at the University of Liverpool with teaching and research covering the whole field of administrative justice. Member of the Panel of Specialist Advisers to the House of Commons Public Administration Select Committee, and Consultant on Public Law to the Northern Ireland Ombudsman.

Read Brian Thompson's Declaration of Interests (pdf 20kb)

Julie Mellor

Dame Julie Mellor DBE

Dame Julie Thérèse Mellor, DBE was appointed as Parliamentary Commissioner for Administration and the Health Service Commissioner for England (Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman) on 3 January 2012. She was chair of the Equal Opportunities Commission from 1999 to 2005.
Dame Julie was a partner at PricewaterhouseCoopers and a non executive board member of both the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills and of the Green Alliance. She is former chair of the Employers' Forum on Disability and of the Fatherhood Institute. She is a former board member of the Commission for Racial Equality and the National Consumer Council.
Prior to her appointment as Chair of the Equal Opportunities Commission, Dame Julie was Corporate Human Resources Director for British Gas and has 20 years experience of human resources management in a wide range of environments, from the Greater London Council to Shell and TSB.
In 2006, Julie Mellor was made a Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire (DBE) for services to equal opportunities.



Adjust newsletter


The latest edition of the AJTC's quarterly electronic newsletter.


AJTC - Administrative Justice & Tribunals Council